I Summon You In The Name Of Your Instincts!

What makes a week’s highlight? Is it finding that lost partner of your favourite pair of socks? Or is it bumping into an old buddy? May be starting a new job. Whatever it is, I am sure it’s definitely something note worthy.

The Peace Unit Program (PUP), an organization that promotes peace within educational institutions in the country, had organized a debate at the University of Nairobi School of Business last Wednesday 25th April. I was honored when I got the call from PUP to speak about transformational leadership during the event. I am always happy when I get a chance to spread the message of value addition to my fellow future-changers in our society.

Transformational leadership to me is all about following your instincts as opposed to the more used guesswork. I believe instincts come from the purest place within us. So pure are our instincts that everything done according to them is the true representation of an ideal us. I dare ask, has anything ever gone wrong when you followed your instincts? Ralph Waldo Emerson, a world re-known essayist, lecturer and poet could not have put it better, “You have an instinct, then an opinion, then a knowledge, as a plant has root, bud and fruit. Trust your instinct to the end, though you can render no reason.”

Guesswork on the other hand is a combination of the most terrible things: self-doubt, self-loathing and self-condescension.  I may have repeated myself there and possibly invented a word but it’s all in the effort of making a point.

A leader is a team player, a servant and a true follower of instincts; all the bestselling books say so, all the known success stories swear by this, all your idols and mentors reiterate it and I beg you to believe it.

I need not tell you that Wednesday was the highlight of my week :-).

Leave a Reply

